Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Yiddish Song: Step Forverts

May 31 @ 17:00 - 18:30 UTC+0

donations

Yiddish Song Forum: Step Forverts – Wednesdays and Sundays live on Facebook.

Project page

A unique international gathering of Yiddish song activists. Live on Facebook here. 

Wednesdays and Sundays from 24 May  at 9 am California/ 12 noon New York / 5pm London / 6 pm Berlin / 7pm Kishinev and Moscow

On 24 May we came together to take a step forward, we meet & greet and start a creative flow. Following that, two times a week, on Wednesdays and Sundays performers present solo sessions with short interviews about their approach to taking Yiddish song further.

Each session will have at least one world premiere of a newly composed or arranged song – we would like this to be a special feature of our series!
Another very important feature of the forum is our Russian speaking ‘Eastern branch’ – about a half of our presenters are originally from Eastern Europe. Let’s bring us all closer together!

We have over 30 presenters from Russia, Moldova, UK, Canada, USA, Brazil, The Netherlands, Estonia, Estonia, Latvia on board, representing a huge variety of styles and genres of Yiddish song – performers, composers, lecturers/researchers, event organisers who all sing their unique material. Coordinated and moderated by Efim Chorny (Moldova) & Polina Shepherd (Russia/UK).

Yiddish Song: Step Forverts

Details

Date:
May 31
Time:
17:00 - 18:30 UTC+0
Cost:
donations
Website:
https://www.polinashepherd.co.uk/step-forverts/

Venue

Live on Facebook
css.php